Testimony Tuesday: Earthly Father, Heavenly Father

 

“By divine design, fathers are to preside over their families in love and righteousness and are responsible to provide the necessities of life and protection for their families.” – The Family: A Proclamation to the World

 

Fathers are important in everyone’s lives. Some of us may not have one in our lives because of individual circumstances, but many of us do have the privilege of having our fathers in our lives.

My mom and dad

My mom and dad

 

My dad is awesome. He may not have been to every performance, recital, sports event, or whatever else I may have been a part of, but I still had his support, and he came enough times that I could see that. My dad is hilarious, fun, and though sometimes can have a bit of a short temper (I get that from him. 😉 ), I love him to death. He has taught me a lot about life and has shown many qualities I want my husband to have as a father (though that won’t happen for few years, at least). Our family doesn’t spend a lot of time together, but we always made it a point to at least try to have dinner together every night. I have so many memories of when my siblings and I were little. When it was bedtime, my dad would pick each of us up, rock us back and forth, say “Shadrack! Meshack! TO BED YA GO!” and throw us on our beds. I loved having him tuck me in. 🙂 Every once in a while, during the summer, I’d ask if I could go to work with him. He’d take me and though I didn’t have much to do, I was excited to spend time with him, even if he had to focus on work the whole time. I remember one lady bought me an orange soda and gave me a tiny card with a picture of a hamster in cheese that said she was glad to have me at work that day and that I should come again.

I have a lot of great memories, but by far, my favorite was going on a daddy-daughter date. I don’t remember the date very much, just that it was for Activity Days at church when I was 8 or 9. But my dad gave me a gift. It is probably the best gift I’ve ever received from anyone and I still have it. It’s only a list of 10 things why he loves me, but it means the world to me. My dad is the best and even though I rarely hear him say it, I know he loves me so much.

 

 

If my earthly father loves me this much, I can’t imagine how much my Heavenly Father loves me. Families here on earth are based off of how families are and will be in heaven. The Lord isn’t an unjust or unmerciful god. He loves each and every one of us because we are all His Sons and Daughters. To get just a little bit of an understand just HOW much he loves us? He sent us here to earth to give us the chance to learn for ourselves. He gives us trials to learn from. He gave us a body. And He gave His Son, Jesus Christ, to suffer for all of our sins so that we may have the chance to repent and live with Him again. Without the Atonement, there is no way we could have that chance.

So, if you don’t have an earthly father to turn to, turn to your Heavenly Father. Pour your heart out to Him. He wants to hear from you. He wants to comfort you and guide you and help you. All we need to do is ask Him. God is the Father of our Spirits, and He loves us like any father should love his children. Our fathers on earth aren’t simply the fathers of our bodies. They, like Heavenly Father, help guide us and comfort us through our lives. They stand by us, love us, support us and tell us when we’re doing something right or wrong or if we’re being completely stupid. They help guide us in the right direction. Fathers have the responsibility to love us, nurture us, guide and help us, and teach us to become the very best we can be. I know my dad loves me and wants the very best for me and I know the same of my Heavenly Father. He is here for me, for you, for all of us no matter what our circumstances me be. I have felt His love and I know Him to be real. Without Him, and without my dad, I would have no clue where to go with my life. I love them both dearly and I am so blessed to have this knowledge.

Leave a Reply

