Testimony Tuesday: Temples

Not all of the videos posted wanted to be embedded, so you’ll have to click on links. Sorry about that! But please, watch at least one of them, and get to all of them when you can!

Boston MA temple - this is the temple in my mission.

Boston MA temple – this is the temple in my mission.

As young children in Primary, we are taught a song with the words:

I love to see the temple. I’m going there someday. To feel the Holy Spirit. To listen and to pray. For the temple is a House of God, a place of love and beauty. I’ll prepare myself while I am young. This is my sacred duty.

I love to see the temple, I’ll go inside someday. I’ll covenant with my Father, I’ll promise to obey. For the temple is a holy place where we are sealed together. As a child of God, I’ve learned this truth: A family is forever.

The temple really is a holy place, a house of God and a place of love and beauty. It’s a small part of heaven on earth. I know these special buildings are dedicated to the Lord and every time I am there to do baptisms, I can feel the Spirit. I can even feel it outside, just on the temple grounds. He whispers to me that it is true; that the work that goes on inside a temple is the work of the Lord.

As I prepare to go through the temple for the first time, I have come to really appreciate the blessings of the temple even more than before. Watching the videos I’ve posted below has strengthened my testimony, too. I see the temples spread throughout the world – we have 140 operating, and even more announced or under construction – and I know that the Lord’s work is going forth. More and more people in more and more countries can receive the blessings of the temple. I can see in their faces, the youth all over know just what the temple means: We can enter in the temple, make covenants with God, and feel His presence for a couple hours at a time. And they are so excited to have one nearer to them, and to see the prophet dedicate them. They know it is true. Even if the temple is hours, or even days away, the people in the church know the importance of it, and put their faith and trust in the Lord. They sell their belongings so they can make it to the temple. They know the importance of it and would give anything to make it there. They know that if they get to the temple even just once in their lives, they can receive Heavenly Father’s blessings.

Another thing I want to testify of is President Monson. He is a prophet. I can see his smiling face in each of these videos and even though I’m not right next to him, I’m watching on a computer screen, I can see the truthfulness of what he says on his face. He loves the Lord and the Gospel. He is a prophet of God who has the power to reveal God’s will to us in these the latter days. We need the Lord’s guidance so much more now than ever before as the world becomes more and more wicked, and the prophet is one way to receive that guidance. President Monson is a prophet of God. He loves the Lord. He loves the Gospel. And he loves the church and everyone in it. He is a prophet.

I LOVE that there are celebrations of the temple, because the temple really IS something to celebrate! Temples are going up everywhere! These cultural celebrations show how diverse the church is, but unify us all. We are all the same in God’s eyes. It is wonderful and amazing to see just how far and wide the Gospel has gone, to places I’ve never even heard of. This is a testimony to me that the church is true. The gospel of Jesus Christ is true. It’s all true!

The church is true. God is real and loves and knows us each individually. President Monson is a prophet, just as Joseph Smith was in his. I know the Brethren in the leadership of the church, President Uchtdorf, President Eyring, Elder Holland, Elder, Christensen, and all the others are all apostles, just as Peter, James, John, Paul, and all the others were apostles in their time. I am so grateful for this knowledge and am so blessed to have it and I feel those blessings every day of my life! I love God and the church, the prophets and apostles, and the temples. I love it all with my entire soul and I know it is all true!

I hope that our temples can stand in places where everyone can see them and know that they are something different and special. I hope it inspires them to ask questions about it, and about the church. I know it is true. I want others to feel the happiness that I get from this knowledge.

Leave a Reply

