Testimony Tuesday: Prepare for the Day, Trust in the Lord

Today, we live in a world full of crazy things, crazy people and crazy lives. We are constantly going, going, going with almost no extra time in the day to stop and catch our breath. Our busy lives sometimes keep us from remembering what is really important and what really matters. We might remember in the morning or as we’re going to bed, but do we remember during the day, during the most important time to remember that we don’t have to do anything alone?

Every morning, as soon as I wake up, I get down on my knees and pray. I don’t just mean “Dear Heavenly Father, thanks for the new day. Bless everyone to be safe. Bless that the day will be good. In the name of Jesus Christ, amen.” I mean sincerely pray. I talk to my Heavenly Father and thank Him for pretty much everything, big and little, that I have in my life. People, things, places, blessings, trials, opportunities, etc etc. And I mean it. I really am grateful from everything I have. I think about the day ahead, what I need to do, who I’ll be talking to, and I ask the Lord to be with me. I ask Him to help me with things I might struggle with during the day, to help me stay awake and alert, to understand what I’m learning, etc etc. My prayers are often close to five minutes in length. The key to having a relationship (relationship being defined as: the mutual dealings, connections, or feelings that exist between two parties, countries, people, etc) with God is talking to Him. He might know what’s going on in your life, but He wants you to be the one to tell Him about it. He doesn’t want to just watch it happen. He wants to hear about it from you, to know what you’re feeling in the moment. He is always there, waiting to hear from us, waiting to answer us. He is a loving parent. What child who has a relationship with their parent doesn’t speak to their parents and tell them about their day, what they have to do? That is the same relationship we need to have with our Heavenly Father.

After praying, I open the scriptures and read and study. You see, scriptures are where we can receive answers to our prayers. The relationship between me and Heavenly Father requires communication on both ends to be considered a relationship. I pray to Him, He answers through the scriptures, the prophets, and other resources that we have His word written in.

scriptures

6 AM is the best part of my day. Sometimes I may not want to get up, but once I do and I talk to Heavenly Father and read His word, my day has just gotten about a million times better even though it’s just barely started. Why? Because we need God in our lives to help guide us and direct us through the craziness of life. As soon as we wake up, Satan is working on us to try to get us to step over the line just once. Once we step over, he tries to pull us farther and farther away from the goodness in life. We need Heavenly Father’s guidance. We need to give Him our hand and trust that He will bring us safely through the fog, the darkness, the trials that come in life. Without Him, we aren’t going to make it through anything in life. Put your faith and trust in Him. He will guide you because He loves you – He is your father in Heaven.

This video is a great analogy to this concept.

Leave a Reply

