Testimony Tuesday: The Power of Music

Okay, it’s time to talk about my favorite subject: MUSIC!

I grew up learning piano. I’m majoring in music composition at BYU. I’ve learned multiple instruments since middle school. I am always listening to music. It is almost my entire life. Music is the one thing I can always count on to take me away from my problems for a little bit and calm me down when I’m upset. I get excited over specific chords when they show up in the music I’m playing or listening to because of the way they sound. I get excited when I get to play on nice pianos. I’ve become a bit of a snob as far as piano brands go – mostly I only like Fazioli and Kawai, but Steinways have grown on me and I absolutely despise Yamaha. 😛 Like the gospel, my family and friends, I truly would be lost without my music.

One of my favorite scriptures in Doctrine and Covenants 25:12 which says: “For my soul delighteth in the song of the heart; yea, the song of the righteous is a prayer unto me, and it shall be answered with a blessing upon their heads.” Wow. Straight from God! Music is a prayer to Him. In other words, music is a way of communicating with our Heavenly Father. Which means He can answer us through music, not just us singing praises to Him. We can receive answers through the music we play or sing or write. I truly and completely believe that and I know it is so because it’s happened to me. Music is quite possibly the only time I can really feel the Spirit strongly enough to affect my testimony of the Gospel, especially when there are lyrics that they are about Heavenly Father and the Gospel (like hymns!). I mean, I can feel the Spirit at other times, but it’s not as strong and it’s harder to feel without music being present.

The EFY medley has always been a favorite song of mine, but specifically now that a mission is real for me does it have great worth.

I encourage you to listen to it, not just once, but multiple times. Really focus on the words they are singing. Take in the music the fills the background. Since I’m serving a mission, the men’s part is something I just want to sing, belt out really, to the entire world. My mom taught me pretty much everything I know about the Gospel. I grew up learning it all. And I now have the chance to dedicate all my time for 18 months just to teaching others what I know. I will be the Lord’s missionary. I will… No, I AM part of the Lord’s army who will and is bringing the world His truth.  Particularly for me, the key change when both the women and the men join together to sing is when tears really start to fall. The instruments used (french horn is just so majestic and is the instrument I think of when I think of music in heaven), the harmonies, and the voices. All together it just brings the Spirit so strongly. I absolutely love it.

Music is important to me. It’s the best way for me to converse with my Father in Heaven. I hope that everyone can learn to appreciate music as I do so that they can find the joy and happiness I find in it, solely because of how strongly I can feel God’s love for me when I hear it.

Leave a Reply

