Final Post Pre-Mission

Hey all! This will be my final post before I go to the MTC! My mom will be updating the blog with my emails and pictures (hopefully she can stay on top of it!). I’ll be set apart tonight, leave for Provo tomorrow and enter the MTC on Wednesday! I am so SO excited to finally be a full-time missionary! It is going to be a wonderful experience! πŸ™‚

As the time for me to serve has come closer and closer, I get more and more excited (duh!). But it’s something that, even though I know it’s happening, I can’t even begin to imagine it. People tell me what missions are like and their own experiences while serving, but honestly, it doesn’t really help too much. Every mission is different. Every missionary’s experience is different simply because none of us are the same person. We all have different opinions on so many different things – for example, people continue to try to convince me how cold it’s going to be up there in the winter time, but I have no idea what they mean by cold. They could think 40 degrees is cold, but that is really just a little warm, maybe sorta chilly to me. Yes, I know it gets to be in the negative temperatures and that there will be a lot of snow. I just used it for an example. πŸ˜› (I’m super excited for the winters, by the way). So while I know a little bit about what to expect, I won’t know anything, really, until I experience it for myself. All I really know is that it will be amazing, it will be the best experience of my life, it won’t be easy and I’m going to learn a ton! As long as I’ve got the Lord by my side, my scriptures and my testimony in hand, and continue to have faith in everything I do, my mission will be wonderful. πŸ™‚

I never imagined I would be serving a mission until a couple years ago when my brother was serving his. I never really thought about it until then. It had always been a ‘I’ll probably be married before I can serve’ sort of thing. Once I really started to think I could really serve a mission, I kept going back and forth between focusing on marriage and focusing on a mission. When President Monson announced the age change, I knew that a mission was what I was going to do. And it wasn’t just me. A lot of people (mostly girls) had been waiting for this to happen, too, though they didn’t ever think it would. And what a wonderful thing it is! There are now about 65,000 missionaries out and by July, they estimate there will be about 80,000! EIGHTY THOUSAND MISSIONARIES!!! God’s work is going forth and I am a part of it. How wonderful that is!

Well, it’s time to finish packing and do a few more little things before I go. I hope to hear from people while I’m gone (my addresses are on the right!). I wish all of you future missionaries the best (you’ll be fantastic) and I’ll see you in 18 months! God speed and God bless! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

