Pressing Forward, Enduring to the End

Tyler Mayle - February 8, 1991-June 1, 2013

Tyler Mayle – February 8, 1991-June 1, 2013

Hey all. For those who don’t know, I have been granted a leave of absence from my mission for a couple weeks (Elder Holland is the one who signed the papers for it. Which I thought was pretty fantastic). My brother passed away this last weekend while hiking and trying to get down a cliff. He slipped and fell about 60 feet. He was listed as missing for five days before they found him. I had decided to continue on with my mission as planned and I had entered the MTC about seven hours before they found him. My family came to the MTC to give me the news and we cried hard for a little while.

Tyler and I at Temple Square in front of the Christus Statue. 1999

Tyler and I at Temple Square in front of the Christus Statue. 1999

Tyler and I at temple square in front of the Christus statue. 2013

Tyler and I at temple square in front of the Christus statue. 2013

The first thing I said when that was done was “I know I need to be with you guys right now, but I don’t want to wait any more than I need to to continue my mission.” We worked it out with the mission president and the General Authorities that I would be allowed to wait for two weeks before coming back. I’m still set apart as a missionary, so I get to wear my nametag while I’m home and I get to keep my sister or mom busy while they follow me around as my temporary companions. 🙂

My brother was awesome and I looked up to him for almost everything. We had grown closer in the last year since he returned from his own mission in Frankfurt Germany, and I loved being able to talk to him about a lot of things. He was funny and loved everyone and he truly was an example of who Christ was. Heavenly Father just decided that Tyler needed to be back with him to do more missionary work on the other side, so the way I see it: Tyler will

Tyler1

be my constant companion as I serve my mission in New Hampshire. We’ll serve together and spread the Gospel to as many people as we can.

Tyler and I after one of my Women's Chorus concerts.

Tyler and I after one of my Women’s Chorus concerts.

Last night we had a remembrance gathering for him. His friends from college and from the mission came up and shared their memories and stories of him. We laughed so much and remembered Tyler well. It was perfect – exactly what Tyler would want. The closing hymn was absolutely 100% perfect. It was hymn number 293 – Each Life That Touches Ours for Good.

Verse 1: Each life that touches ours for good

Reflects thine own great mercy, Lord;
Thou sendest blessings from above
Thru words and deeds of those who love.
Verse 2: What greater gift dost thou bestow,

What greater goodness can we know
Than Christlike friends, whose gentle ways
Strengthen our faith, enrich our days.
Tyler5
Verse 3: When such a friend from us departs,

We hold forever in our hearts
A sweet and hallowed memory,
Bringing us nearer, Lord, to thee
Such a goof. :)

Such a goof. 🙂

Verse 4: For worthy friends whose lives proclaim

Devotion to the Savior’s name,
Who bless our days with peace and love,
We praise thy goodness, Lord, above.
It truly was beautiful and hard to keep back the tears while singing that hymn. I will miss my brother so much, but I have the knowledge of the Plan of Salvation and I have the knowledge that there is a God. So I will keep pressing forward and enduring to the end because that’s what Tyler would want, that’s what Satan doesn’t want and more importantly, because it’s what I want and need to do.
Tyler, I love you and I miss you, but I know you’ll be right by my side. You were the best big brother anyone could ever ask for. Thank you so much for your amazing example. I know you’ll be doing great things on the other side. I LOVE YOU!
Tyler and his lederhosen.

Tyler and his lederhosen.

He'll be watching over me.

He’ll be watching over me.

I'm so glad he was able to come through the temple with me. :)

I’m so glad he was able to come through the temple with me. 🙂

God be with you till we meet again.   God be with you till we meet again, brother. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Pressing Forward, Enduring to the End

  1. Paula says:

    Beautiful Hailey! I’m glad you have a great companion in Tyler. I know he will be with you as you serve. And yes, your mom, dad and sister need you right now. You made a good decision just like you always do.

  2. Corrie Sigmon says:

    This us an absolutely beautiful update. Thank you so much Sister Mayle. I know that not only will Tyler be your constant companion, but that The Lord will be there right next to him. We are so grateful to have known Tyler. We are so proud of your decision to serve your mission. You will be awesome!

  3. Justin says:

    My prayers and thoughts are with you and your family. Your faith and love are inspiring; I know the Lord is watching over you and your family. I know the Lord lives and the Plan of Salvation is real. God bless.

  4. Linda says:

    My love and prayers to all of your family. My brother was killed in a car accident when I was 16 and I know the heartache this brings. I also know all of you are strong and your faith brings you comfort and that Tyler will always be remembered by you and everyone who knew him. Take care.

  5. Savannah says:

    This is perfect Hailey. Thanks! 🙂 And I love you!

  6. […] Today’s message is actually not really from me. It’s from my brother, Tyler. And it actually goes pretty well with General Conference. Anyone who knew Tyler knew how devoted he was to becoming a better disciple of Jesus Christ every day. He loved others and served them when he saw a need. He always had a desire to share his testimony with anyone who would listen. He definitely was full of joy and loved to laugh and joke around to make others laugh, too. (If you don’t know his story, you can read about it here). […]

Leave a Reply

