Father’s Day

Today is Father’s Day – a day that we celebrate every man who has the privilege of having children in their lives. Mostly, we focus on those that have their own children, but I also believe it’s a special day for those father-figures, uncles, brothers, cousins, and friends who may not be fathers quite yet. All men have the potential to teach the children they come in contact with to be the best they can be in all they do during their lives, and all men should be living their lives in Christ-like ways and treating everyone with love and kindness. You never know who you’ll come in contact with, who’s watching you to see the way you treat those around you. Honestly, the most attractive thing is seeing a guy who can be the silliest, craziest, weirdest, selfless person around children and also treating the women in their lives with love and respect. It really is. My favorite thing to see is a father playing with his children, or the look on his face when he holds his newborn child. It is one of the most precious things anyone could ever see, in my opinion.

Now, my dad is a great dad. He makes a point to try to make it to every activity we invite him to, or every performance we have. He is fun and loving and kind. He’s not perfect (who is?), but I’ve learned a TON from him. He taught me to try as hard as I could in everything I do. He taught me that it takes 10,000 hours of practice before you become great at something. He taught me to go after my dreams. He taught me to never give up. He taught me that it’s okay to fail, but to always get back up and try again. He taught me how to laugh at myself and enjoy life. He taught me the important things in life. ๐Ÿ™‚ I treasure every moment I have with him, and I cherish the memories of daddy-daughter dates and the way he has comforted me when things get tough. He is strong and he has faith that the Lord will guide him through life.

Dad and Tyler being normal. :)

Dad and Tyler being normal. ๐Ÿ™‚

It is a little sad that we lost Tyler so close to Father’s Day, but at the same time, I think it shines more light on the fact that my dad helped raise Tyler in such a way that he truly was a disciple of Christ. He is an amazing dad to me and my brother and sister. I’m so glad that he knows the gift of fatherhood, and that I am part of that gift.

Daddy, I love you! You’ll always be a great example to me, I’ll always be your little girl, and I’m proud to call you Dad. ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Leave a Reply

