First Week in Boscawin

Hello hello from New Hampshire!!!!!

My first area is Canterbury, in the Concord Stake (NH). I live in Boscawin, but go up to Franklin, Canterbury, and a bunch of other towns. The ward I’m in has five missionaries (the sisters and elders), and we split it in half. (SISTA Z!!!! I met Sister Sansuzi (sp?) yesterday at church! We’re in the same ward!!!!!). I’m in a trio with Sister Buxton and Sister Herrick. They are wonderful. Sister Buxton is my trainer and Sister Herrick is waiting for her visa to go to Brazil.

The first week has been interesting. Weather. I’m sure most of you know how much I hate the heat. With a passion. Well… Let’s just say I’m trying hard to stay positive and the Lord is truly looking out for me. It’s really only been super hot for one maybe two days, but pretty cool the rest of the time. The humidity is fine, it’s just when it gets hot that I have a harder time with it. πŸ˜› I’m in a driving mission which means we drive pretty much everywhere (by the way, gas is pretty cheap here. I’ve seen it down at 3.35!). We walk sometimes and have car fasts once a month to conserve gas/mileage, but it’s not too bad if it’s not hot. The worst is when people don’t have A/C in their houses and the air is SO STILL. BUT I’m doing fine. It’s the Lord’s work and I’m happy to do it. πŸ˜€ I absolutely love this area. It’s BEAUTIFUL!!!!! Not even kidding. Trees are everywhere and it reminds me of Germany. πŸ™‚ Only one problem: I have NO idea which direction I’m going because there are no mountains. Just tall trees every which way. Haha! Also: I’ve been seeing fireflies and my companions didn’t believe me. They’ve never seen one before but THEY SAW SOME LAST NIGHT! So now they know I’m not lying. πŸ˜€

Alright, as far as investigators go – we don’t have an progressing investigators, but we have quite a few we go talk to at least once a week. And we talk to a lot of less actives.Β 
Debbie is the most interesting and most frustrating. When we teach her, she is happy and excited and knows it’s all good. She commits to go to church and read the Book of Mormon. Problem: She doesn’t follow through. She uses the excuse that she has MS (for all we know that’s totally legitimate), but we think she’s an alcoholic and she’s not being honest with us. SO FRUSTRATING. Especially since her baptismal date is July 27th. She can’t get baptized if she’s an alcoholic, smokes and doesn’t come to church. We’re going to have to talk with her and see if we can’t help her overcome her addictions and figure out her life. It’s so hard when we’re trying to help them come closer to Christ, but they’re not doing what they need to. :/
Terrance Wigglesworth (best last name ever) is a pretty cool guy. He’s willing to listen and really wants to come to church. But sad news: His best friend/roommate (who might have become an investigator) drowned in the river on Saturday. First off: I really hope that Terrance doesn’t keep us from coming back. We have a message that brings hope, love, peace and comfort and I want so badly to share it with him. Second: I’m quickly coming to find why I’ve been called to this mission. I’ve heard of three people losing someone close in the last WEEK. And more have lost people throughout their lives and are still angry and sad and can’t figure out why. This is why I’m here and why I’m a missionary. The Gospel is so perfect for trials and pains like this and I want them to see what it can bring them. I pray hard every night that I’ll be able to bring some comfort to someone every day. I know that every person I meet is going through something and I know that I can be the one to bring them the comfort the want and need.Β 
Sister Creed (endowed less active) is my favorite. Every time we meet with her, she asks such deep, soul-searching questions! It’s so crazy! I learn something new with her every time and I LOVE talking to her! We’re having dinner with her next Sunday and she’s having me cook Chicken Alfredo (mom, can you send me the recipe (I think I know it but I just want to double check)and how long does it take to make again? I always forget). Sister Buxton is a vegetarian, so the chicken will just go on the side. πŸ˜€ I’m pretty excited for that one. Anyway, Sister Creed. The first time I met her, she asked how she could come closer to Christ. She knew she has a relationship with God, but she wants one with Christ too. How many of us really realize that those two relationships are different? I never really thought of it that way, but it was pretty eye-opening for me, because it’s true: God and Christ are two different people, so there must be two relationships. Sometimes it’s hard to differentiate because their purposes are one and the same. The second time we saw her (yesterday), she was trying to figure out how to make both her carnal mind and spiritual mind work together. HOLY COW!!!! Who thinks of things like that? It’s so AMAZING! We’re meeting her again tonight to give her and a special needs woman (Dawn) a church tour. It’s going to be FABULOUS.

I’m running out of time, so I’ll finish up. This week is going to be great. We have dinner with one of our investigators tomorrow and dinner with a member on Thursday. I’m super excited for those. The investigator, Bethany is Catholic and seems to only be talking to us purely for curiosity’s sake, but it’s interesting. I think we’ll be able to help her see tonight how important the Book of Mormon really is. She doesn’t think there’s any need for it, but OH-HO! There really is. πŸ™‚ Take out your Book of Mormon, read the introduction (it says introduction at the top) and figure out what it means. The first paragraph, the one in the middle (Joseph Smith’s quote) and the last two paragraphs are the ones you need to read. Do it. Now. Seriously, that’s the best. Also, 2 Nephi 31 tells us exactly what the Doctrine of Christ is and I love 2 Nephi 32:3 – it tells us that we can receive revelation by studying the scriptures. So study them! Who doesn’t want revelation from God? It’s pretty awesome how that happens. πŸ™‚Β 

Not sure when I’ll send pictures. We email at a library so I’ll figure that out soon. Trust me though, I’ve been taking boatloads of pictures. πŸ™‚

Also, I’m not really sure what’s going on with people’s emails. Sister Zenger, yours is going crazy so though I’m sending you emails, you might not be getting them.

I miss all of you tons! Love you to death! And write me. My address isΒ 
2 Bedford Farms Ste 208
Bedford, New Hampshire 03110.
Seriously. I like mail. πŸ˜€

Love always,
Sister Mayle
One thought on “First Week in Boscawin

  1. That was amazing for the 1st week and I love it. God Bless!

Leave a Reply

