Week 6 (or was it 5?) in Canterbury

Hello!

So I got my pictures out to you…. FINALLY. But now here’s my real email. This week has been pretty good. We have two new investigators. Funny story – one of them was listed as a member. Her name is Debra Adams. We went to her house and she said she’s not a member, never been baptized and her information (besides the address and name) doesn’t match up with the records. “Umm, that’s weird. Hey, well. Do you want to learn about our church and come closer to Christ? No? Well, is there anything you need done? Weeds? Alright, we’re coming over next week to help with that.” So we did. And she’s awesome. She fed us lunch (grilled cheese, chips, cottage cheese and WATERMELON!) and we pulled some weeds (strangely satisfying) and then sat and chatted about the Book of Mormon. She is a wonderful lady who I am very excited to get to know and teach. 🙂

Ron…. He’s our recovering alcoholic. He relapsed on Saturday. It’s so hard to watch someone who wants so badly to do better take a fall like that, especially when he feels horrible afterwards for doing that. His faith is not very strong because he feels so worthless and like he can’t be saved. It’s awful to see him like that. However, I’ve learned a lot from teaching him. Mostly about the love of God. I don’t know this guy very well at all, and I probably wouldn’t talk to him ever if I weren’t a missionary, yet I’ve come to love him so much and I know that it’s because of how much God loves him. He’s a son of God and there is no reason for God to love him any less than He loves me. I wish there was a way for me to be able to show Ron how much love that is. Because it’s so much that we can’t even BEGIN to comprehend it. When we visit Ron tomorrow, we’re going to see if he wants a Priesthood blessing to help.
I know that the Priesthood is an AMAZING thing to have. It can bless people’s lives SO much, and I am very grateful for the men in my life who hold it. The Priesthood is the authority to act in God’s name and is only given to worthy male members of the church (which means it’s not the men themselves). The Priesthood can be used to give blessings of comfort, healing, and whatever else you would need help with. Blessings are amazing because you pretty much get it straight from Heavenly Father. The man giving the blessing is simply the mouthpiece. It is also used to baptize and to give the gift of the Holy Ghost. Man, the Priesthood is AWESOME. 🙂

We have another investigator, Gloria, who is so cute. She’s probably in her 60s and is very open to what we have to say. Which is probably because of her faith – she believes that God answers her prayers (which He does) and tells her everything she needs to be doing. So she says that if He tells her to listen to us, she’s going to listen. She came to the third hour of church yesterday and said she even asked God if she should go to it, and He told her that yes, she should go. How wonderful is that? Holy cow is she prepared!!!! We taught her the Restoration yesterday and she said it all made sense. She agreed to pray about Joseph Smith and to read Moroni 10 (all of you should read Moroni 10 as well, and think about what he’s asking you to do. He wrote it specifically to the reader, not to anyone else). Gloria is such a wonderful example to me because of how much faith she has. I really hope I can get to the point one day where I have that much faith and trust in the Lord – I might be close right now, but it’s definitely easier said than done.
Something I read this week was Alma 26. I LOVE that chapter – it’s all about why we do missionary work. So that’s my challenge to you this week. Take some time to read it. Missionary work is the most important work we can be doing right now because it’s how we can gain salvation – by coming closer to Christ through having faith in Him and His atonement, repenting, being baptized, receiving the gift of the Holy Ghost and enduring to the end. In order to do all of that, we have to learn it first, and how do we learn it? MISSIONARIES! That is our purpose. This is why I’m spending 18 months of my life doing nothing but preaching the Gospel. And it is absolutely wonderful. I love it so much, the good and the bad. 🙂
Alright. I’m out of time. I love you all and I’m so grateful for your love and support. Till next week!
Sister Mayle
Leave a Reply

