Week 17 – Crazy week of MIRACLES!

Hello one and all!
First off: HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!!! We have to stay in after 5 on Thursday because of the holiday, and then suddenly, it’s NOVEMBER! Where has the time gone???

This week was FULL of miracles! We had SIX member present lessons (the last few weeks we’ve sadly had zero), three of which were with one member! And we have a new thing that the mission is doing called SMEs (Significant Missionary Experience). These are when members have a significant missionary experience and we had SIX of those (different from the member present lessons)! WOWZERS! It was ridiculous how awesome this week was. 

I’ll start with Tuesday. So we had a lesson with Abigail (who’s 8) and her mom, Angela. Sister Goulet and her daughter, Jules (who’s 12) came with us and helped us teach them about Adam and Eve (we did a little skit that Sister Buxton and I wrote). Jules and Abigail immediately hit it off and Abigail wants to be just like Jules – she wants glasses and a bag just like her. Jules was telling her all about Young Women’s and Activity Days and the Young Women’s Personal Progress program. Abigail wanted to do it all. Jules also talked about baptism and serving a mission. Abigail wants to do those two things too!!!! WOWEE!!!! We didn’t even ask Jules to do all that, she just went in, talking about how awesome she thinks church and all the activities are and Abigail wants to do it all! So next week we plan to extend a baptismal date to both her and her mom. That’ll be SWEET!

Wednesday we got to meet the new elders in our district – we have two now. A new one in our ward (Elder Brewster) and a new one in the Concord ward (Elder Vaughn). They’re both great and will be awesome to have in our district.

The other story that I can’t leave out happened last night.We went to Sister Creed’s, as usual, for our Sunday dinner. We get there and she had invited a friend, Nancy. Well, that’s cool! We definitely thought it was awesome. We enjoyed our dinner of corn chowder, salad and brownies and Nancy asked us a lot of questions about missionary work and where we’re from and all that. It was some good conversation. Dawn, who lives with Sister Creed and has had some pretty bad experiences with church in the past (which is a lot of the reasoning why Sister Creed hasn’t been in a little bit), told us that she’d finally been able to go to her church that morning with Sister Creed. That was really amazing for her. I mentioned that I’ll be playing a piano arrangement in a couple weeks in sacrament meeting and Sister Creed really wanted to go so she asked Dawn if they could both go. Dawn said yes! AND she said that they could switch off with her church and our church so they’ll come every other week! WOWEE!!!!! After we ate, we taught her about the Book of Mormon – what it was, why it’s so important and what it means to us. She already has really great faith in God and while we were explaining the Book of Mormon, she kept saying “Oh that’s interesting!” “Yep, I agree with that.” “This is just perfect timing with my life right now with everything that’s happened in the last couple of weeks!” Holy cow. Talk about crazy miracles!!!! After we left that meeting, Sister Buxton and I were silently freaking out as we walked away and had no idea what had just happened. It was SO awesome. Heavenly Father definitely is blessing us and keeping an eye out for us. I definitely am loving being a missionary! 🙂

Alrighty. My studies this week have been great as well. I finished the Book of Mormon and started over in a new copy. I’ve started marking every time it talks about Jesus Christ or Heavenly Father in yellow, and interesting or important passages in blue. I’m reading it with new eyes – I’ve been reading it, thinking about what it might be like for someone who has never read it before and wondering what is really interesting or important for them to know (the things that I’m highlighting in blue). I’ve learned quite a bit. I’ve read it a few times before, but this time, I noticed a couple of things that I’ve missed before, or at least not realized it was there. In 1 Nephi chapter 10 it mentions John the Baptist. In chapters before that it talks about Moses parting the Red Sea. It’s so amazing how much the Book of Mormon really goes right along with the Bible. I LOVE IT! 🙂 This week I’ve also been studying Hope. One of the scriptures that I absolutely loved was 1 Peter 3:15-16. It says: “But sanctify the Lord God in your hearts: and be ready always to give an answer to every man that asketh you a reason of the hope that is in you with meekness and fear: Having a good conscience; that, whereas they speak evil of you, as of evildoers, they may be ashamed that falsely accuse your good conversation in Christ” (JST changes it to …”your good conduct in Christ”). I’ve found that it is pretty essential that we have to understand WHY we have faith and hope in Christ. If anybody every questions God or your reasoning for believing, if they ever tell you you’re wrong or crazy or whatever else you might be for having faith in something that “obviously doesn’t exist”, have your testimony ready. Testimony is the most powerful thing, especially when paired with the Spirit. It’s the best refute because there is no denying the knowledge that you have, straight from God. As Joseph Smith said “I knew it, and I knew that God knew it, and I could not deny it, neither dared I do it…” (JS-History 1:25)

Another scripture I found was Romans 15:4 which says: “For whatsoever things were written aforetime were written for our learning, that we through patience and comfort of the scriptures might have hope.” We have the Bible and the Book of Mormon so that we can learn. We need to study from them daily in order to receive the patience, comfort and hope that we need to get through every day life. 
Finally, I found Jacob 4:6 that says: “Wherefore, we search the prophets, and we have many revelations and the spirit of prophecy; and having all these witnesses we obtain a hope, and our faith becometh unshaken, insomuch that we truly can command in the name of Jesus and the very trees obey us, or the mountains, or the waves of the sea.” There are so many things that confirm the existence of God and the blessings that the Gospel can bring us. As we see those things in our own lives, our faith and our hope becomes unshakeable to the point where it can move mountains. 
My challenge this week is for you to take the time to study these scriptures and what they mean to you. How can you strengthen your own hope and faith? Bear your testimony to someone this week. Help them to see what God has done for you and what He can do for them. Study the scriptures and pray every day so that your faith and hope can be strengthened and become unshakeable.
I know all of this to be true and I have seen what hope and faith can do. I’m not perfect, nor is my faith, so I do have my own struggles at times. But every time I come out of it all, I realize what a difference the struggle made and how much stronger I and my faith are for it. I love this Gospel and the blessings it brings. I love to see the change in people as they start to accept it and apply it in their own lives. I love to see their smiles when they open the door to see us and when they know they’ll get to see us again next week. I love to see their faith be strengthened and the love that they come to have for the Gospel and for the Lord. Being a missionary is such a blessing and a privilege.
I love you all and am so blessed to have each one of you in my life. 🙂 Enjoy the week, see the blessings each day, and let the miracles happen.

Love,
Sister Mayle

PS: One quote I really loved from conference was by Edward Dube: “In the sight of the Lord, it is not about what we have done, or where we have been, but about where we are willing to go.”
Keep that in mind this week. 🙂
Leave a Reply

