Week 18

Hello everyone! 🙂

Man. Time is going so fast. This transfer is already two weeks in? And I hit my five month mark tomorrow. I don’t know how it’s gone by so fast, but it has!

This week was another week full of miracles! First off: We saw snow on Wednesday and Sunday. Before you freak out too much: It was only a few flakes coming down, not even enough to wet the ground. But it was there! 🙂 Oh, I’m SO excited for it to really come down!

Yesterday, Nancy and Sister Creed came to church! WOOHOO!!!! That was a miracle because when we called Sister Creed to ask her if she would invite Nancy, she didn’t think it would happen, especially since she didn’t think she herself would be able to go. She called us back about ten or fifteen minutes later saying she AND Nancy were going! WOWEE!!!! Sister Buxton and I were SUPER excited! 

On Saturday, we did a TON of service. We stacked wood in the morning and then helped a ward member move (I love activities with the ward. SO much fun!) and then we helped someone weatherproof their windows and then we did some grocery shopping for someone else. Packed FULL with service opportunities. That day I discovered two things: I love to serve (not really a new discovery though) because it’s tons of fun to see their happy faces when you finish. Second: I cannot function without my study and prep time in the morning. We had to be stacking wood at 8AM, so we just exercised, then did just a part of our personal study and then left. We didn’t even have time to get ready besides changing clothes. The day was great, though! 🙂

Tuesday was our ward Halloween party. None of the 7th Day Adventists came, but it was still a good turn out and a lot of fun. I said it earlier and I’ll say it again: I love ward activities. This ward is so amazing. There’s a lot of love here and yesterday I realized how good it feels to be able to walk down the hall at church and say “Hey Brother so and so! Hi Sister so and so!” and really know and care about the members. It’s the same with investigators. Man, I just love it!

On Halloween, we had to be in early – 5:00 early. Because of the holiday. They want to make sure we’re safe, so we did what’s called: Deep-clean Halloween. Sister Buxton cleaned the bathroom, I cleaned the kitchen. And rearranged some stuff. Cleaning is oddly satisfactory (I probably shouldn’t let my mom read that). 

Alright. Remember last week when I told you about starting the Book of Mormon over again with a new copy and using yellow to mark whenever it talks about Heavenly Father or Jesus Christ and using blue to mark anything interesting or important? Well. I found some SWEET stuff. It’s really cool how much more you can learn when you’re not reading your own marked-up copy and have to start fresh. First off: I want to comment on 1 Nephi 13. Wowzers is that COOL! It’s a prophesy about the founding of America – it talks about the battles and about the reason for all the fighting: they want freedom of religion. The Bible is mentioned, which is always sweet. Keep in mind that this is a prophesy. The Bible is non-existent in 600 B.C., which is when this part of the Book of Mormon was written. Now fast-forward to 1 Nephi 13:39-40. It talks about other books that will come forth to convince the Gentiles and the Jews that the records of the prophets and the twelve apostles are true. Then it says that those last records will establish the truth of the first (meaning the Bible) and will make known the plain and precious things that have been taken away from them. Those records also testify of Jesus Christ as the Savior of the world. I don’t know about you, but I LOVE when I get to read about the scriptures IN the scriptures. I think it’s pretty fascinating, actually. That shows me that these things ARE true (prophesy fulfilled: books come forth to convince the Gentiles and Jews that the records are true) and that they really are from the Lord.

There are two other verses that I really love. The first one is 1 Nephi 19:6-7. This is Nephi speaking about what he’s writing: “Nevertheless, I do not write anything upon plates save it be that I think it be sacred. And now if I do err, even did they err of old. Not that I would excuse myself because of other men, but because of the weakness which is in me, according to the flesh, I would excuse myself. For the things which some men esteem to be of great worth, both to the body and soul, others set at naught and trample under their feet. Yea, even the very God of Israel do men trample under their feet; I say, trample under their feet but would speak in other words – they set him at naught, and hearken not to the voice of his counsels.” Nephi never wrote anything that wasn’t worth telling us about. Everything he ever wrote down is sacred. Whatever mistakes he made, he’s only human. I personally think that if it wasn’t sacred or important enough for us to know in this day and age, it wouldn’t be in the Book of Mormon. 
The other one I found this morning. It’s the final verse in 1 Nephi – Nephi is bringing his writing to an end and (for the time being) and he wants us to consider that what he’s written is true. 1 Nephi 22:31 says “Wherefore, ye need not suppose that I and my father are the only ones that have testified, and also taught them. Wherefore, if ye shall be obedient to the commandments, and endure to the end, ye shall be saved at the last day. And thus it is. Amen.” Now, 1 Nephi is the very first book in the Book of Mormon. Nephi is the first author. That doesn’t mean he and his father are the only ones ever to talk about these sacred things. Prophets before them testified and taught these things. There are many times in just 1 Nephi that mention Abraham, Moses, John, even Joseph Smith and the Savior Himself. Nephi talks about prophets beginning at Adam and going into the future (his future, our past). This is the Lord’s word. His Gospel. It is something that EVERYONE needs, so it is something that everyone has been taught since the beginning of time. My favorite part of that last verse? “And thus it is.” That’s just how it is. No questions. It’s the plain truth. For me it’s plain, anyway. 🙂

Now, I have a challenge for you all this week, which has nothing to do with what I just talked about. I was reading D&C 6 this week and it’s a really amazing chapter. I loved it a TON and so I’d like for each of you to take the time to study it. Replace the names in there with yours. Think of it as being addressed to you, personally. It can be pretty eye-opening when you apply scripture in that way. Read it. Love it. Apply it. Have a fabulous week! 🙂

Love you all! Write to me soon!

Love,

Sister Mayle

Leave a Reply

