Week 23: MORE SNOW!

Hello everyone!

Well first off, let me tell you the big news. And those of you who know me, MIGHT be able to guess how excited I was about this. All this last week we were hearing about a horrible storm that was coming our way and would hit on Saturday. All of Saturday it was cloudy and didn’t even seem like it was going to start snowing at all. Around 6:00 it started BARELY to shimmer down. It was a pretty dry snow and there was about an inch by the time we got home. We went to bed with it still softly snowing. We wake up in the morning. Even though it was Sunday, we had to do some exercise and shovel out the car that was buried under a little more than a foot of snow!!!!! YIPPEE!!!!!!! I have pictures, but sadly, I didn’t bring my cord to hook it up to the computer so I could send them. šŸ˜› Let me tell ya. If this is how winter is always out here, I might just have to be a backwards snowbird!

So besides that, there’s not too much to tell. I do have to say, though, that the Tinker’s are awesome. They’re an older couple and every time we meet with them, we have such a wonderful spiritual conversation. I absolutely love talking with them! We shared the Christmas story with them from Luke 2, then went over to Alma 7:10-13 and talked about why Christ’s birth is something to celebrate. We’d already asked a few people that question and most of them had just looked at us like we’d just asked the dumbest question they’d ever heard. The reason I love the Tinker’s so much: They seriously considered that question (and every one that we ask) and sincerely answer it. That’s why they make it spiritual. Because they take the time to think about it. The simple questions are the ones that often provoke the most thought. Another reason I love them: Sister Tinker is a wonderful fellowshipper. She calls our investigators to invite them to church, to see if they need anything. Brother Tinker is always willing to take them to church or do what he can to help. It’s great!Ā 

Oh man! I almost forgot the coolest thing! Sister Goulet is another sweet fellowshipper. She’s brought us four of our investigators! This last week, she was driving along and saw someone hitch-hiking. She passes them, turns around a few minutes later and picks her up. Sister Goulet tells this woman (CJ) all about us and asks if she’d like a missionary visit. She says yes! So we get a new investigator named CJ this week. Who wants to get baptized. AWESOME!Ā 

This week at District Meeting, we were told that President Stoker is wanting us to try to do a family home evening every night (not just Mondays) now. Wow. It’s hard to know how we’re going to fit that in, especially with our mileage limitation and the amount of time we already spend teaching investigators. We’ve had to add an extra day of going out to Franklin/Tilton to see everyone! BUT! I know that we’ll be extremely blessed and continue to see miracles each day as we do as the mission president has asked. I think we’ll see the work move forward even faster as we work with the members, getting to know them, and helping them feel comfortable with doing their own missionary work. It’s going to be GREAT! šŸ™‚

There wasn’t too much that stuck out to me during my studies this week. All of it was great! So I’ll just share one verse that I really love. It’s Mosiah 7:33, which says: “But if ye will turn to the Lord with full purpose of heart, and put your trust in him, and serve him with all diligence of mind, if ye do this, he will, according to his own will and pleasure, deliver you out of bondage.” I’ve seen this happen to me in my work as a missionary. Sometimes it’s difficult to stay focused, but if I remember to be diligent and serve with all my heart, it becomes easier to do what I have to do and to teach by the Spirit. And I know that He will help each of you in your trials, in your times of need, whatever it is that you need, if you turn to Him, trust in Him, serve him with all your heart, might, mind and strength, He will lift you up and bless you immensely. So this week, I’d like for you to take the time to study the scriptures and think about what help you need. Put your trust in the Lord, ask Him for help. Then be patient as you continue to study and wait for His help. It will come in His own time.Ā 

I hope all of you have a wonderful week and enjoy life! Remember the reason for the season, and don’t forget to think of three things you’d like to give the Savior for Christmas! šŸ™‚

I love each of you!

Love,
Sister Mayle

Leave a Reply

