Week 26: NEW YEAR!

January 6, 2014

Well, HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

I can’t believe it’s 2014 already and I can now say I’m going home this year… WHAT?!?! Time goes by WAY too fast as a missionary. Oh well. As long as I make the most of it, that’s alright. 🙂 

So we got some big news this week on Thursday while we were trekking through the 6-8 inches of snow with our shovels. Our mission president called us, I promptly handed the phone to the senior companion, wondering what the heck he was calling us for. She talked to him for a few minutes, got off and told me that as of this coming transfer, there would only be sisters in the ward. The lease for the elder’s apartment isn’t up yet, so we’ll be moving to their apartment in Concord (the capital city of New Hampshire. At least it’s only about the size of Fort Collins). So this week will be spent packing and cleaning our current apartment so we’ll be able to move next week. However, I’ve been in the same area for my entire mission (seven or so months) and so I most likely will be being transferred out next week. 😦 I love this area, and my companion, so I’d prefer NOT to leave… Ah well. Whatever the Lord needs me to do, that’s just fine with me. And I can always come back to visit! 

OH! Before I forget: I said I would tell you all what gifts I wanted to give the Savior. I still haven’t heard from any of you what yours were! So send them to me. Now! 🙂 Mine are pretty cheesy, but hey. I like them. My mission president liked them. And I’m pretty sure the Savior would like them. 🙂 Also, I want to say, I thought about these because you can’t really give the Savior anything He can hold, or touch, or whatever because everything is already His. So here are my three gifts that I’m working on.

1: A huge orchard of trees that bear good fruit (metaphor! Read Alma 32)

2: The smiles from the people that I serve everyday.

3: Music. I want to write the most glorious, angelic, majestic song I can come up with. I won’t be able to do that till I get home, but for now, I can at least play and bring the Spirit to those who listen. 🙂 

Anyway, we’ve been doing a lot of cleaning out our teaching pool because a lot of the people we teach don’t seem to be too interested or they are just not following through with commitments. At first, I was a little bit sad about this (well, I still am), but then, after getting that call this week, I realized that it’s probably better because we won’t have time or miles to spend like we have been once we move and are over the whole ward (which the farthest distance one end to the other is 30 miles). We’ll find other people in other areas and we’ll be back up to being crazy busy again.  

So Ray has a baptismal date for February 1 (I’m pretty sure I mentioned that) and boy oh boy does Satan know it and is trying his best to keep it from happening. We had three appointments with him and every time, something happened to where we weren’t able to teach him! He also went to the emergency room this week because of bleeding in his lungs, which prevented him from coming to church AND to the baptism that the elders in our ward had on Saturday. Ah, Satan. He’s super smart and knows what to do to deter us from progressing so he can drag us down. But he won’t prevail! Ray will still be baptized and it will be a glorious day! 🙂 

One more change this week: We’ve switched to 9:00 church and I LOVE IT! We don’t have time to do personal or companion study before we go, but it’s nice because then I can come back and actually be awake and focused on my studying after being at church all morning. Plus, I do love mornings when we get out rather than sitting inside until 10 like we usually do. It’s great. Yesterday, while I was reading from the Book of Mormon, I read Alma 17, which talks about Ammon and his brothers going to teach the Lamanites the Gospel. This morning, I read chapter 18. Both chapters are amazing missionary chapters and what I would like you to do, is read/study them and look for qualities or things Ammon and his brothers did to become great missionaries. There are at least nine or ten things. Once you figure out at least a few of them, I’d like you to apply them in your own lives, whether for missionary work or not. See what happens. You’ll witness miracles, and experience many blessings as you strive to do what Ammon did. Like I said, it doesn’t have to be in relation to missionary work. The qualities and actions are things that apply to life in general, or even other specific things like family, school, work, etc etc. It’s pretty awesome what the scriptures can do to help guide and direct your life. 

Alright. I lied. I’m sorry! There’s another change our mission president gave to the whole mission. We have to memorize one scripture every day for the entire year. Meaning: We’ll have 365 scriptures memorized by the end of the year. If you’d like to follow along with us and take on this challenge, too, here are the scriptures so far:

January 1: James 1:5

January 2: D&C 50:13-14

January 3: Moses 1:39

January 4: 2 Nephi 2:6-7

January 5: 1 Samuel 15:22-23 (first sentence)

January 6: 1 Nephi 3:7 

If I forget to send them next week, just remind me and I’ll do it the week after! 🙂 

So for the new year, our mission president asked us to make three goals: one physical, one emotional and one spiritual. I made about four or five spiritual ones. I plan on memorizing the scriptures every day, memorizing one hymn every week, writing down when I recognize promptings from the Spirit, and a couple others I can’t remember at the moment (don’t worry, I wrote them down!). It’s going to be a WONDERFUL year if I can continue to work at all that and be able to improve. I’m really excited! I know some people don’t like to make goals/new year’s resolutions, but I got an email from a good friend last week who LOVES to set goals for himself. He told me that: “my motto [is] ‘shoot for the moon, because even if you miss you’ll land among the stars.’  Why go for anything less?  at least if you set the goal, there’s a chance you can get it, and you have something to work towards! Preach my gospel says that your goals are a reflection on your desires.  so if you have no goals, what does that say about your desires?”

All I can say about that is that I have a pretty brilliant friend. And he is most definitely right! The more I think of it, the more I realize: Goals are wonderful! So, even though it’s a few days into January, it’s not too late to set goals/resolutions! My advice though, is to set big goals, but also goals that lead up to achieving that higher goal. In other words: Baby steps. It’s difficult to achieve something when you become overwhelmed and realize just how big the goal actually is, but when you break it down into smaller goals, it’s easier to handle and you’ll be more likely to reach it.  

Alrighty, well. I think that’s about it for this week. Stay tuned to find out if I’ll be spending another transfer, and therefore HALF of my mission in one area! (Probably not)

I love you all and thank you for your love and support! 🙂 It’s fun to hear from you guys, so keep it coming!!! 

Have a fabulous week and stay close to the Lord! 🙂 

Love,

Sister Mayle

Leave a Reply

