Week 1: Lebanon, New Hampshire!

July 7, 2014

HELLO HELLO from Lebanon, New Hampshire!

I am back in this beautiful state, not far from Canterbury – quite a few people in this ward know people in the Canterbury ward AND I’ll be going on exchanges there at some point! I am SO happy and exited to be here! Plus, I’m senior companion, so I get to drive a red car. I am happy to be driving – I LOVE driving! But besides that, being senior isn’t any different than being junior. 🙂
Sadly, we have almost no time today – it’s a long story but in a nutshell: We left emailing for last because we were going to do service at the library, but we get there and the library is closed so we had to drive all the way back…. Left us with no time. So this will be a short one… again. Maybe next week will be normal…
Anyway! I have had a great time in this ward so far – parties, church, getting lost because the GPS likes to take us random ways. It’s great! I was able to get to the church the second or third time without any help from my companion, Sister Spangler. OH! I have to tell you about her!
Sister Spangler: She is wonderful! She was trained by Sister Bowns (who I’ve exchanged with – she was in Laconia when I was in Canterbury) and has been out for 4 1/2 months. She’s doing really well for being so young! She’s from Cottonwood Heights, Utah (shoutout to Elder George and his family!… right?), and though we’ve had some issues with communication and food choices (she thinks I’m crazy because I don’t like avocado), that’s really the only problems! Thankfully! And we’ll get through them soon enough because we’ve got the Lord on our side and we are both super happy to be here! 🙂
Oh and: CONGRATULATIONS to Elder Zenger – he went into the MTC this week, headed to a mission in Brazil. *sniff* So proud of him!
So real quick: Lately I’ve been thinking about how interesting it is that so many rumors are started about different religions. Catholics have rumors, Mormons have rumors, Baptists, Methodists, Episcopaleans, 7th Day adventists, etc, etc. Everyone has SOMETHING being told about them that is absolutely not true and completely ridiculous. So I’ve just been thinking about how I want to learn, from the source so I can actually have the truth and not the silly rumors, about all the different religions. So my challenge for you this week, especially if you’re not a member of the church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, is to send me a letter or email about your religion (or just your beliefs if you don’t have one). What do you believe? I’m not grading them, so it doesn’t have to be perfect. I just want to know! Because studying religion is FASCINATING! And for everyone, regardless of your beliefs, I challenge you to ask someone you know who believes differently from you about what they believe – get it straight from the source so you don’t have strange rumors in your head and think “Oh crap. Those mormons. They have horns on their heads. I’m NOT talking to them.” (Totally NOT true, by the way. We do not have horns on our heads. We are human beings). Get it from the source, and you’ll find that they’re just as normal as you are. Get to know people before you judge them and you will be surprised at the similarities between you – as you do, you’ll have a strong bond of friendship with each of those that you take time to know, and you will be so blessed for those friendships that you gain – both you and the person you’ve become friends with. I know that to be absolutely 100% true. 🙂
Time’s up. I hope to have a more detailed letter next week.
Love you all!
Sister Mayle
Leave a Reply

