Week 12: Time flies when you’re having fun!

September 22, 2014

Well everyone, it’s official. I only have…. TWO transfers left…. YIPES! I guess time really does fly when you’re having fun. And when you’re exhausted. And when you’re working hard. And when you’re doing all you can to bring others unto Christ! YES! So my last two transfers, I have this goal: I want to go out with a BANG! So far, it seems pretty likely – we had a baptism on Saturday (SAMANTHA!) and we’ve got two more on the horizon – Sue and Nick set a date for October 25! We’ve got some SAWEET potentials that might have dates once they become actual investigators. And I’m just so excited for all of it. The ward members here are fabulous and we’ve been improving every time we see them – we extend challenges and commitments that will help them grow and bring the excitement to share the gospel. We LOVE it! πŸ˜€

Here are some highlights from the wonderful week:
First: Samantha’s Baptism! She was SO happy! The whole thing went well and when she came up out of the water, she said so excitedly and kind of in shock: “I did it. I did it!” Oh, she is so sweet! I love her! πŸ™‚
Second: The Primary Program. Oh. My. Goodness. You know how there’s almost always that one child that sings their heart out with the words they know? Yeah. This girl is four and the CUTEST little girl ever. She reads EXTREMELY well and every time she took a breath to sing the next syllable, her entire body took the breath. Hahaha! She’s ADORABLE. The best thing: She’s the Gentile’s granddaughter. The Gentile’s are the ones from Canterbury that we had Christmas brunch with last year. When I went up to say hello to them since they came to see Emma in the program, it took them a few minutes to register who I was and then Sister Gentile let out a little shriek of excitement and Brother Gentile forgot I was a missionary and hugged me. It was hilarious! I loved it! Hahaha!
Third: I went on exchange at the beginning of the week, back to my birthplace – Canterbury! It was wonderful working with Sister Jensen (she came out with me!). She’s hilarious – her prayers. I can’t even describe. You just have to hear. One example: We had pizza and she said “Please bless the food that it will strengthen and nourish our bodies as far as pizza goes.” It doesn’t seem so funny if you don’t hear it, but it was hilarious. I had a hard time not laughing through most of her prayers. The neat thing, though, was that even though I was finding them funny, they were also some of the most sincere prayers I’ve heard in a while. And that’s really what counts. πŸ™‚ I got to see Anthony and his son, Dakota, who Sister Buxton and I taught last year. They both have dates for October 12, but it might be postponed until they’ve read the Book of Mormon all the way through. Which leads to my next exciting point of the week!
Wednesday was Zone Conference and we had Elder Larry Wilson of the Quorum of the Seventy there. The focus was the Book of Mormon and why it’s so important in the conversion process. So real quickly, I’ll give an overview:
The Book of Mormon is central to conversion because it testifies of Christ, it strengthens the testimony of the Bible, and it proves that Joseph Smith is a prophet and the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is the Lord’s kingdom on earth. If the Book of Mormon was not true, Joseph Smith would have made it all up. If you read the Book of Mormon, even without wanting to know it’s true, even trying to prove it’s not true, you would find that it’s just about impossible to make it all up without any help from God. If you know the Book of Mormon is true, then you know Joseph Smith was a prophet and you know that everything else that he did was only building up the kingdom of God here on the Earth.
I can’t say it as well as Elder Jeffrey R. Holland says it, so listen to him. Don’t just read it (though that’s great too). Listen to him say it. It’s so powerful and I love it!
I know the Book of Mormon is true. I know it! And there’s nothing anyone can do to change that. I know it’s true, and I know that it goes along with the Bible. There’s no doubt about it that they support each other. And just… It makes sense. Why would God speak to only one nation if He loves all of His children? He wouldn’t. Therefore, there are multiple records. There HAVE to be! I know that I’ve talked a lot about the Book of Mormon lately, but I just love it. And I just want others to understand the truth for themselves. Don’t read everything BUT the Book of Mormon. If you’ve heard bad things about the Book of Mormon or even good things about it, don’t take those words for it. READ IT YOURSELF. No information is as good as that which you find from the actual source. πŸ™‚
You know my challenge of reading the Book of Mormon in 40 days or however long it was? Well. I have faith in all of you that you can do it. Every little minute counts towards something. I only have time to read really during my mealtimes. I’m busy studying other things or teaching every other minute of the day! So if I can do it with my crazy missionary life and only having small amounts of time to focus on finishing this challenge, so do you. But, I guess if you HAVE to change it a little for your own schedule, that’s okay. Read as you desire, as long as you read. πŸ™‚ Blessings and miracles, testimony and conversion to Christ will come from it!
I love you all!
Love,
Sister Mayle
Leave a Reply

