Week 2: Leb and the Humidity

July 14, 2014

Why hello again! It’s already Monday. I feel like this just happened…

Anyway! I’ve added a bunch of new people to my email list from Ellsworth and even Canterbury. If you don’t want to get these emails, or have a different email I should send stuff to, just let me know! šŸ˜€
Okay first of all: CONGRATULATIONS ASHLEY AND SCOTT!!!! They welcomed a beautiful baby girl, Coral, to their family this week and I am SO happy and excited for them! It’s so strange that my friends are becoming parents, but such is life and it is wonderful! šŸ™‚
Oh boy. So this week was awesome! I love it here in Lebanon already – the people in the ward and the random people we meet are so nice and loving and willing to do anything to help us out! It’s FABULOUS! All the areas I’ve served in have been fabulous. I’ve been extremely blessed on my mission to serve with such wonderful people! This week I was thinking about the three areas I’ve been in, the people in the wards, the investigators, the companions I’ve served with and the lessons I’ve learned. I’ve come to realize just how much the Lord has a hand in putting us in each area, whether we’re missionaries or not, that we go to in our lives. The experiences we have each day prepare us for tomorrow. They enable us to help individuals and groups beyond what you can imagine. I’ve been told already how much I’ve touched people’s lives and I can’t even express how much joy that brings me to know that the Lord trusts me with experiences and people in a way that will only help them and make them stronger. I am humbled to know that and to know that I am fulfilling my divine potential as a daughter of my Heavenly Father. I truly love Him and the knowledge I have of Him and the Gospel. It helps me to have direction and know that there is a purpose to every trial, lesson, person, place, thing, etc that I come in contact with. It’s just amazing!
My mom mentioned that it’s been a humid summer for them in Colorado…. Hahaha! Okay so it is WAY more humid here than in Ellsworth or Colorado. Oh humidity…. BAHAHAHAHA! Yeah. New Hampshire is SO humid. Frizzy hair ALL the time. My towel is NEVER dry. I’m sticky all the time. My pillow and clothes are all damp. Paper isn’t nice and crispy the way it should be AND I wrote a couple letters this morning and went to put them in an envelope. Those darn things sealed themselves shut it’s so humid! Oh the adventures of places where it’s never dry. It amazes me when we drive by a fire station and Smokey the Bear tells you that the fire hazard is anything above very low.
More adventures: We saw three foxes in one day, and bats, a mouse scurrying across the road at night, a mama dear and her fawn, and a turtle, who we named Speedy, in memory of my fifth grade teacher, Mrs. Campbell’s turtle, and we saved from being squished by cars. Then we found out after we saved him that he was a snapping turtle. Good thing we still have all our fingers! You know what? We saw all of those animals in the road… And today we saw turkeys crossing the road. Well. It makes sense why there’s so much roadkill… The animals paths have been invaded by cars and roads…
Oh hey! I played the organ on Sunday! Sister Barker, the music coordinator was thankful for a break. And at some point, Elder Jones (our district leader) and I will be doing a musical number – he’s going to sing and I’m going to accompany him.
On Thursday and Friday, we did some service for a senior center that was putting on a book sale – we set up tables and lugged in over a thousand boxes of books… That’s a TON of books! And being the bookworm and music geek that I am, I rummaged through the box of music books…… I found a bunch of music – AWESOME classical music (Chopin, Beethoven, Mozart, Ravel, etc) for $6.20. (And I paid for it all in the change I had randomly strewn through my bag… I swear that thing is like Hermione Granger’s bag… Everything gets lost somehow even though there’s only one pocket). Buying that same music new would’ve cost at LEAST $50. I’d say that’s a fantastic deal.
Before I forget: P-DAY for us next week will be Tuesday because… wait for it!!!!….. WE’RE GOING TO THE TEMPLE!!!! Yes, that’s correct! The policy was changed in January that we’re allowed to go to the temple once every six months if we’re within two hours of the temple. Well, I’m within two hours. It’s been a long time and I am SO excited!!! I LOVE the temple! I’ll be sure to take pictures! šŸ™‚
ANYWAY: Last week was FILLED with amazing visits. I’m running low on time, so here’s a few of the highlights:
Adrianne: She is wonderful! She’s got MS really bad and doesn’t have the use of her arms or legs. She LOVES visits from us, loves reading from the scriptures and hearing us sing a hymn. The Spirit is strong with her and she totally has a testimony. But her family isn’t supportive. When I teach her, and these others that I’m going to mention, I can see how much stronger I’ve become with recognizing the Spirit and letting Him guide my words. Not just in lessons, but I’ve learned to do it in all of my conversations. Of course, I’m not GREAT at it yet, but it’s like learning a new language – it takes a TON of practice. šŸ™‚ But I love Adrianne and now, our challenge is to figure out why her family isn’t supportive and see if we can ease their concerns or fears or whatever it is. It’s always interesting how people who don’t know much about a topic won’t give it a chance and say it’s not a good thing.
The Smith’s: Oh my goodness! We had dinner with them on Thursday and they are WONDERFUL! They were SO excited to have a new sister in the ward and were interrogating me the whole time! It seemed to fascinate them that I don’t eat dairy (which I’ve stopped eating because it’s giving me problems. Again. Yay. Bleh. Those of you who know me, this is a sacrifice. Practically all my favorite foods are dairy based).
The Tinei’s: They’re less-active. They’re from the Marshall Islands and pretty difficult to understand – especially their four-year-old who speaks MarshalEnglish… Like Spanglish except Marshellese and English. But it’s so fun teaching them and strengthening them. They can’t come to church because the drive is about 45 minutes and both Brother and Sister Tinei work nights and church is at 1. So they’re afraid to drive while being so tired. A legitimate fear. I just hope we can fulfill our purpose as we visit them and bring them closer to Christ. So far, so good! šŸ™‚
Sister Kilton: She’s also less-active, but will soon be coming back. She’s preparing mentally and spiritually to come back and I know she’ll be there soon! šŸ™‚ We practiced the seven minute Restoration (teaching from the Restoration pamphlet in seven minutes) and holy cow she picked that apart! We got a TON of insight on how to improve and be better. It was just wonderful! I like practicing with her because she’s good and asking legit questions and helping us understand what others might be thinking the way we explain things. I love it! šŸ™‚
Brother Keay: This man… I love him SO much already! He has the strongest testimony and SO much knowledge. He was a pilot and a lawyer and I have no clue why he doesn’t come to church. He lost his best friend on Saturday, right before we saw him, and the message we had (talking about baptism and the covenants we make) was perfect. He loved it and knew it was inspired by God that we share the scripture Mosiah 18:8-10 with him which, summed up, says:
“…and now, as ye are desirous to come into the fold of God, and to be called his people, and are willing to bear one another’s burdens, that they may be light; Yeah, and are willing to mourn with those that mourn; yea, and comfort those that stand in need of comfort, and to stand as witnesses of God at all times and in all things and in all places…”
If we are trying to do what we know Jesus Christ would do, we are willing to do those things. That’s why I love the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. We have such a support system. Without even being asked, we automatically help people in need and do our best to strengthen them in whatever way we can. Why? Because we’re striving to become like our Father in Heaven, so we do what we know He would do if He were here.
I know we all have a purpose in life, but generally we all have the same: to learn and grow and prepare ourselves to become like God. As we study the scriptures and the words of the modern prophets, attend our church meetings, pray individually and as a family, take time to be with our families, love and serve one another, etc, etc we will come closer and have a stronger relationship with our Savior Jesus Christ and our Father in Heaven. As we come to truly KNOW who they are, as we come to know our close family and friends, we will know how we can become like them. We all have great potential as sons and daughters of Heavenly Father, and I KNOW that each of us can reach it if we have the desire.
Pray this week and ask Heavenly Father this question: “What can I do today to be a better son/daughter of Thee?” I know He will answer and help you to know what you can do each day to fulfill your great and divine potential. Do you have the courage to do act on the answers you receive?
Have a great week!
Love,
Sister Mayle
PS: I’m still waiting for answers on what you believe. Even if you are a member who use to be Catholic, Methodist, Baptist, whatever, send me what you believe or did believe. I want to know! šŸ™‚Ā 
Leave a Reply

