Week 23: Interviews, Inspiration and Impressions!

June 23, 2014
Hello hello everyone!

I’m low on time today – it’s District P-Day today and also, this library is busy, so I hate to ask for more time on the computer (it automatically logs off every half hour).

SO! Real quickly, a recap on the highlights!

Wednesday was a full day. We had lunch at the Senior Center with Bertha Melanson. Our table was full of hilarious people – two of our investigators, Bertha, another woman and this guy named RE (Arie). He’s probably about 70 years old, from Nova Scotia and has houses all over the place, so he’s got a southern accent, a New Englander accent and a Nova Scotian accent (mixture between British and Irish) all mixed together into one crazy accent. Plus, he’s hilarious, a HUGE talker, and completely genuinely interested in you and your well-being. Probably my favorite old man I’ve ever met. We also taught Tracy, a less-active who’s really having a hard time coming back to church because of the guilty feeling she gets when she does go. We taught about the Atonement, using a quote for a member of the Quorum of the Seventy, Elder Okazaki. We also used an activity “Interview with Christ”, that is pretty much just what it says. You imagine yourself having an interview with Christ. What’s it like, what do you feel, think, etc? Tracy absolutely LOVED it and I sure hope she hangs onto that impression and feeling so that she is motivated to act on her faith and belief. We also taught scripture study class. We decided to teach about obedience! And boy oh boy was THAT an awesome lesson! TONS of discussion, crazy Elder Crockett on a Monster (an energy drink), and FULL of the Spirit! We used quotes from Elder Eyring’s talk “In the Strenght of the Lord”. (https://www.lds.org/general-conference/2004/04/in-the-strength-of-the-lord?lang=eng) Look it up, study it, see what you think. I think it’s absolutely amazing and inspired! If I had more time, I’d go into more detail. Maybe next week. 🙂

Thursday we had dinner with the Watkins Family. Oh boy oh boy do I LOVE them! They are hilarious and crazy and such great examples. They have wonderful faith and great family bonds. I love it and I learn so much from them every time! 🙂

Friday was the BEST day of the week: Interviews with President Stoker, the Mission President (I’ll touch on that in a minute). We also had Zone Meeting. Holy crap. The entire day was full of the Spirit, inspiration, love and happiness! 😀 We learned more about teaching from the pamphlets in 7 minutes and how there is SO much history in this area. We are extremely blessed to have the wonderful privilege of serving where patriots and prophets walked. The way they presented that REALLY impressed me and made me SO excited, motivated and happy to be serving in the New Hampshire Manchester mission!!!
Saturday, we made Tear-a-moosey, in Elder Erekson’s words (Tiramasu, or however you spell it). The story behind that is Elder Erekson wanted to take one from the Community Meal, but then we told him it has coffee in it… He was super sad because it looked so delicious. So we decided to make him a Mormon Tiramasu. He thought it was pretty awesome! Thankfully. We had some adventures making that!

Alright. Back to President Stoker’s interview. I just LOVE interviewing with him. He is such a loving man and though he doesn’t talk with me or see me SUPER often, I know that he KNOWS me because he is close to the Lord, who knows me perfectly. President Stoker is truly an inspired man and listens so well to the promptings of the Spirit. This interview was different than previous ones I’ve had with him. The difference? I felt confident saying that I knew I was improving and I could see it almost every day. The changes that have happened are almost blindingly obvious. The great thing about it, though, is that I am STILL changing and that I never want to stop. I’ve become more confident in who I am. I’m a better communicator. I’m better at loving people, especially companions. I feel closer and more aware of the Spirit. And best of all: I know my Savior better than I ever have. As President Stoker and I talked, we were completely on the same level and were both receiving inspiration on how I can improve, how I can help the area and how I can help Sister Hall as she tries to improve herself, too. It was an absolutely amazing experience! One thing that he suggested to me, which I want to pass on to all of you, has to do with my personal prayers. I told him I’ve been working to improve my personal prayers because while they’ve been getting better, I still don’t think they’re where they need to be. What he told me after that has changed how I pray. I need to ask different questions, not just say things like “Bless my family. Help me to be better.” The difference in my prayers needs to be SPECIFIC questions or needs, not general. This is what President Stoker told me: He committed me to asking the question, every night, “What can I do to be a better missionary?” His promise with that was that I would receive an answer immediately. As I sincerely asked Heavenly Father that question, He would immediately answer me, because it’s a simple question. He also promised that as I covenant with the Lord to heed the answers that come, He would be with me throughout the day to help me accomplish my goal. Wow. What an AMAZING promise. I was extremely impressed and SO excited to try it out! I have seen a ton of blessings already from keeping my commitments to President Stoker and the Lord and already, I can see myself becoming a better missionary. But not only that, the things I’m doing to be a better missionary are things that will help me be a better individual, friend, wife and mother, daughter, sister, aunt, and whoever else Heavenly Father needs me to be. President Stoker told me that when I go home and have a family of my own, I need to continue asking that question, but change the last word. “What can I do to be a better wife? A better mother?” So that’s my challenge to all of you today: Take time to pray each night and ask yourself the same question. “What can I do to be a better…?” My promise to you is the same promise that President Stoker gave to me. Great blessings will be yours. Great miracles will happen throughout each day. I know that to be true.

I wish I had more time because there’s a lot more I want to say. But for now, I just hope you will take this challenge every day and have the faith to receive answers and act on them. Have a great week!
Love you all!

Sister Mayle

 

Leave a Reply

