Week 4: Never Enough Time!!!

Oh boy oh boy!

SISTER BUXTON!!!!! I’m pretty sure I’ve turned into you a little bit. I’ve started swerving to avoid frogs and other animals in the road (don’t worry, it’s safe swerving… if that makes any sense at all). And I’ve saved a moth, a caterpillar, a frog, and a turtle from the middle of the road so they wouldn’t get squished… Yup. I’m a mama’s girl. 😉 Haha! 

So let me tell you about the upcoming week we have because it was CRAZY trying to figure it all out.
Today: District PDay – we had to pick up the Elders because they have about 1 mile left for the rest of the month and we have about 200. And we get to have a WONDERFUL family home evening tonight with Sister Arnold, our amazing ward missionary. I am WICKED excited about this FHE. It’s going to be crazy awesome because it’s kind of an open house FHE where a member hosts it, we teach the lesson and anyone is invited. It’s going to be SWEET!
Tomorrow: Zone Conference in South Royalton, VT (where the Joseph Smith Memorial is) – an hours drive east of Lebanon. That takes up the whole day, but luckily, we found a ride to it! Thank goodness!
Wednesday: Going to Newbury, Springfield, New London, and Canaan (half hour to any of those places from our apartment, and about 30-60 minute drive apart from each other).
Thursday and Friday: Youth Conference in Plymouth State (about an hour and a half drive from where we live).
Saturday and Sunday are normal days. But holy crap we’ve got a TON going on this week – lots of driving and crazy amounts of miles eaten up. But it’s okay. The Lord watches out for us and we make things work. I just love the blessings of being able to serve the Lord. It’s wonderful! 😀
Alright. So. Our investigators:
Dee – oh man do I LOVE her! She is part Native American and is always telling us about pow-wows and superstitions and things. It’s wicked cool! She makes me want to be Native American and go to pow-wows (which you can do even if you’re not). She always introduced me to huckleberries and boisenberry jam…. Oh my goodness. If you’ve never tried them, you have to! Huckleberries look like blueberries but taste a lot like raspberries and boisenberry jam. Well, it has it’s own taste but it is FABULOUS. And I didn’t even know boisenberries were real until I go to New England. I always just thought it was some random made up berry from A Bug’s Life. Anyway. Dee is doing so wonderfully! We gave her a Book of Mormon last week and she read the first seven or eight chapters in that short space of time!!!! Wow! It’s quite rare that we get someone who is that devoted to reading and learning about it. When we introduced her to it, we read the Title Page with her and the end of it caught her eye:
“And also to the convincing of the Jew and Gentile that Jesus is the Christ, the Eternal God, manifesting himself unto all nations—And now, if there are faults they are the mistakes of men; wherefore, condemn not the things of God, that ye may be found spotless at the judgment-seat of Christ.”
She loved that it says not to condemn the things of God – mistakes are made by men, not God. I love that, too because it is SO true. The Book of Mormon is the word of God. So is the Bible. Any mistakes found within either book are mistakes made by man. We’re not perfect. There’s bound to be SOME mistake somewhere because men are the ones who physically wrote it.
Walter: He is a cute old man. He gets distracted super easily and so it’s pretty difficult to teach him. But this last week, we were talking about prophets and he was so focused on that lesson! He thinks there needs to be a prophet on the earth today to guide us. Boy, were we so excited to share with him that there IS, in fact, a living prophet on the earth today! His name is Thomas S. Monson and he speaks to us all as God’s chosen spokesman. It’s WONDERFUL! 😀
So this week, I learned that I need to be a lot better at communicating. This has been an issue my whole life. I just like to keep things in – things that annoy me, things I feel people could be better at, blah blah blah – because I don’t want it to come across as me being judgmental and selfish. And since things like communication are things that you can only improve on with practice, I’ve just always been bad. Because I don’t practice. But, Sister Spangler has informed me that I get to use her for my guinea pig in learning to say things and figure out how to help others improve without it being an insult. So far, I still haven’t done it. Bad communication skills are bad habits to break! I’ll tell more next week… if there is more. Which there will be because I WILL do better! *hopefully*
Something else I learned this week is that I’m a better missionary than I give myself credit for a lot of the time. I invite more people to learn about the gospel than I think I do. I teach a lot more than I think I do. I know my stuff a lot more than I think I do. And you know why I don’t give myself credit for it all? Because I’m constantly comparing myself to other awesome missionaries that I’ve looked up to throughout my mission. “I’m not good at this because I don’t do it this way.” “Sister so and so is amazing at doing this. I could never do it that well!” etc. etc. If you ever want to be good at something, you need to stop worrying about what others think, about how other people do it better, etc, etc. Because if you do that, you’re never going to feel good enough. This kind of goes along with what I wrote last week. I am my own self. I have a personality, and I am a daughter of God. I don’t need to change everything about me to be perfect. Just a few things here and a few things there. Everyone has different strengths and weaknesses. That doesn’t make us better, worse, more or less than anyone else. We just need to work on playing to our strengths and improving our weaknesses. No one person is the same as another. Because of that, none of us is going to do the same thing in the same way. Once we realize that, we will be able to see our improvement, our progression, our best, our strengths, and our divine potential.
So look in the mirror – what do you see? Do you see someone who is confident in who they are and who they can become? Do you see a child of God? Do you see your great worth? Do you UNDERSTAND all of that? 
Then ask yourself this: What can I do to be able to see that I AM a child of God? What can I do to recognize my great worth? How can I better understand it all?
That is my challenge for you is to ask those questions daily, weekly, whatever you want and work to achieve your goal of who you want to become. Stop comparing yourself or wishing you could be like someone else. Unless of course, you’re comparing yourself or wishing you could be like Jesus Christ. He is the perfect example for us to follow.
Read that article ^ and apply it. It will help with this week’s challenge. I promise you that if you focus on doing the Lord’s will and becoming who he wants you to be rather than who the world thinks you should be, you will be able to see improvement, even the smallest amount. You will be able to see what good you can do and how great your worth is. You will see so many amazing blessings and miracles. Once you see that, you will be able to help others reach their divine potential, too. I promise you because I know it’s true. I know who God is and I know who Christ is. You can know too, and you can be able to receive His image in your countenances.
You all are wonderful. Thank you for all of your love and support! Have a wonderful week and enjoy the challenge and promised blessings. 🙂 
Love,
Sister Mayle
Leave a Reply

