Your Divine Potential

Ever since I’ve come to know exactly who I am, there has been one phrase that makes me cringe: “Why am I so special? I’m just little ol’ me.”

The message I have today is for those who have thought this once, twice, or on a regular basis. You think you’re not so special, just “little ol’ me?” Whether you mean that in a way that says “I’m not good enough” or in a way that says “I’m simply just another person,” you need to know, brothers and sisters, that that is the exact opposite of the truth. You are a beautiful, glorious and divine son or daughter of God, your Father in Heaven. You are unique and wonderful in each of your own ways. You have strengths and weaknesses that come together to help others who have strengths and weaknesses different from your own. Those things, your best and your worst, are what make you who you are. What you do with them determines who you become.

President Dieter F. Uchtdorf shares this message about our true identity by comparing us to the story of The Ugly Duckling. He tells us that we often neglect to see who we really are and we let ourselves get down and upset over it. But instead, we should see that we ARE special. We aren’t “just little ol’ me”. We have the potential and the power to become as God is, to inherit all that He has and is. When we are able to see others in that way, as our brothers and sisters, as sons and daughters of God, we have the desire to serve them and to do all that we can to see them happy. We don’t think twice about it because we love them, the way our Father in Heaven loves them.

I know this mainly because I have improved my prayers, which you can read about here. As I’ve prayed daily to Heavenly Father, I’ve been able to strengthen my relationship with Him in a way that can never be achieved without a daily conversation. I know who He is and I know that He loves me more than I can even comprehend. I’m a VERY special to Him, and extremely important. I have a part to play and it is a critical one, no matter how small or large it is. Every day I have an influence on someone around me, whether it’s good or bad. In the scriptures, we read that we (the saints) make up the body of Christ, that each part is important. Everyone needs a heart to pump blood to the rest of the body. Everyone needs a brain to think and do. Everyone needs lungs to pump oxygen to the rest of the body.Everyone needs eyes to see, ears to hear, mouths to eat. Everyone needs fingers and toes to walk and to type and play instruments and hold things. Everyone needs everything in the body. Yes, there are things we can survive without. But how much more can we accomplish with everything present and intact?

YOU are a part of the body. YOU are needed in order for the Lord to accomplish His work to the fullest. YOU are special and important. Your divine potential is great and you can accomplish so many wonderful things, but only if you can see yourself through heaven’s eyes.

Leave a Reply

