Radiate Joy!

Radiate: (1) to emit in the form of rays or waves (2) diverge or spread from or as if from a central point.

When things radiate, they’re often infectious and impossible to not have any effects because of whatever it is that’s being radiated – heat, light, chemicals, smells, etc. Whether you notice it or not, something in you is changed because of that radiation.

Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about how other people perceive me. I don’t mean that I’m worried about what other people think of me, I just wonder if they see who I really am based on the first couple times they meet me. The reason that’s been on my mind is because I’ve been praying to know what I can do to serve others in order to develop a more charitable personality. I always love those people who sincerely take time to ask how I’m doing and see if there’s anything I need. I admire the ones who serve without really having to think about it – they just completely forget themselves and do what they can to help others find some joy in their lives. These people obviously radiate the joy and love of the Gospel and of the Lord with seemingly little or no effort. And every time, BOTH parties are changed because of the radiation, whether they realize it at that moment or not. I’ll admit I’m a bit envious of that. I wish that that sort of thing came more naturally to me, but it doesn’t. But that doesn’t mean I never will be able to do the same! Anyway, as I’ve thought about what people might think when they first meet me, I definitely realized that they don’t really get a chance to see who I truly am right off the bat. I’m not super social and I don’t often show a lot of emotion so I can see why that might be the case, but I want to change that. I want to be a source that light and joy can radiate from!

Oh the joy between siblings!

Oh the joy between siblings!

Do you remember in the scriptures, how it’s constantly saying how the Father and the Son are one and the Holy Ghost is one in them and they’re all one (see John 10:303 Nephi 11:27, and D&C 50:43)? But wait…. aren’t they three separate beings? I thought so, so why do the scriptures keep saying they’re all one? Well, for one thing, the Godhead (Father, Son and Holy Ghost) all have the same purpose. In that sense, they’re one because they are unified in what they are trying to achieve. Another reason is that because they are so unified that if you know Jesus Christ then you also will know Heavenly Father or the Holy Ghost without having met either of them before. The same for if you only know Heavenly Father or if you only know the Holy Ghost. No matter if you only know one out of the three, then you automatically know all three because they are so unified that they are essentially the same person.

And the joy between friends!

And the joy between friends!

Now, the reason I bring that up is because that’s the kind of impression I want to make on others. I want them to immediately know who Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ are because they know (or at least have talked or seen) me. I don’t want that effect to happen only after we become friends. I want it to happen ALWAYS! I want to be able to always have the Spirit as a constant companion so the people around me will be able to feel of God’s love and know that they can find joy and happiness wherever they remember to look for and find Him in their lives. I’ve said it before: All I want is for everyone to find a place in their Heavenly Home one day. I know that isn’t going to happen if I don’t do my part in sharing the Gospel with others and I know I won’t be able to do that if they decide (based on their first impression of me) that I’m not the kind of person they want in their lives.

Mom and I, radiating joy!

Mom and I, radiating joy!

The way I’ve chosen to work on sharing the Gospel even with people who only see me from a distance is to work on being more obviously joyful. I love my life and everyone who’s a part of it. I love the Gospel and I love the Lord. I need to show that in a way where people will never be able to mistake me for being the opposite. It will be hard for me to do this, but it’s something I want a lot more than most other things in my life. It’s important to me to develop this Christ-like attribute and because it’s important to me, I know it’s important to the Lord. And because it’s important to the Lord, I know He will help me and give me the strength I need to achieve my goal.

“God didn’t design us to be sad. He created us to have joy!” -President Dieter F. Uchtdorf

Leave a Reply

